A stroll with Yogi

A boy of about 10 says nonchalantly, ‘Hey Dad, there’s a bear over there’.

The father turns, as he replies with an obvious disbelief ‘Oh, yeah?’.

The kid points into the trees and the father’s eyes follow. ‘Oh there is a bear!’ the father exclaims.

image

'Yogi' is a juvenile brown bear

And that’s how I came to have an unexpected encounter with a wild bear in Yosemite. Tourists were marching around in their hundreds to a nearby waterfall and all but the child had missed the real star of the show.

image

Half dome is visible in the background. The more adventurous can hike to the top using the permanent wires bolted to the rock

Yogi was about half grown, and not in the slightest bit interested or distracted by the humans who began to line up to take a look.

He pottered around, pulling at branches and rummaging amongst the undergrowth. I imagine he was hoping for a pic-a-nic basket, but they are a tad out of fashion these days and most don’t linger long enough here in Jellystone, erm Yosemite.

Yellowstone was a natural marvel, and I feel sad to view it for such a short time on the tour. But as California’s 38th Governor once said, I’ll be back.

image

El Capitan, the largest granite cliff in the world. The youngest girl to ever climb it is from my hometown, Sheffield!

image

I think this was Hostel waterfall. This is close to where Yogi was hanging out

image

Redwoods

image

El Capitan, Half Dome and Bridal Veil waterfall all visible in this selfie 🙂

7 thoughts on “A stroll with Yogi

  1. P says:

    more great pics, can’t believe you got so close to the bear! xx

  2. Di says:

    I adore the picture of the redwoods.I keep wanting to put Yabber dabber do and hello Mr Ranger sir, but K says I must refrain. X

    • Haha I say go for it! 🙂 I saw some nice redwoods in Muir Woods, some pretty big ones there, the tallest in the world is there actually but I didn’t get to see it. Was still a nice place to visit though.

  3. bdh63 says:

    I visited there for a wedding years ago. We saw bears also, a whole group of them. What a gorgeous place, thanks for sharing your pictures.

Leave a Reply

