Mixed reactions (originally posted June 2012)

It’s real now. I’ve told people. That feels huge; like there’s no turning back. It feels equally liberating, exciting and terrifying.

When I’m feeling uber-confident about what I’m planning I give people the whole shebang about what I intend to do: Couchsurfing, visiting 50 states, writing a book about my journey, doing all this in just six months, the lot.

What sometimes dictates how confident I’m feeling about it all is how the previous person I told reacted when I told them. I’ve had reactions ranging from hugs and excitement, to ‘You’ll never be able to do it because…xyz’. From concerned scowls, to giddy slaps on the back.

Obviously it’s a pretty big thing that I’m planning to do. So my confidence wobbles when people reel out the reasons why I won’t succeed. But all I need to keep me progressing towards my goal are those little shots in the arm of positivity.

These take different forms. The positive reactions of course, but also seeing things like this comment. These keep me pushing forward and help me feel that I CAN DO IT!

Here’s the comment from Believe & Achieve:

“A year ago I had a little thought “Wouldn’t it be great if I could run health weekends that give people the whole package enabling them to change their lives and find real health and happiness” 12 months later, lots of hard work, great support from family and friends and never ending belief and it is a reality. And the best bit? This is just the tip of the iceberg – if I can achieve this much in such a short space of time, what can happen in 2 years? 5 years? What will you have achieved in that time? You can have anything you want – decide, plan, action and believe. Simple.”

7 thoughts on “Mixed reactions (originally posted June 2012)

  1. Claire says:

    you can do anything you put your mind too, good luck 🙂

  2. Claire says:

    Thanks for following 🙂

  3. magiecrystal says:

    You GO, girl! Where are you in your journeys? Were / Are you traveling alone?

  4. Jess says:

    Hello and Happy New Year! Thank you for visiting my blog. My story is close to yours. Five months ago I let everyone know I’d be quitting my job, selling all of my belongings, to travel, volunteer, couchsurf, wwoof, amongst other things. Many thought it was a little weird to leave such a safe life. But many wished they could do the same! I am now one month into that dream. You are the master of you and only you can find yourself that special kind of happiness. Follow your happiness =)

Leave a Reply

